Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis: The Sounds of Democracy

December 5, 2020 | RCU Theatre


The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet's performance of The Sounds of Democracy aims to entertain, inspire, and uplift audiences with the full vigor, vision, and depth of America’s music in this virtually streamed concert.

Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz's finest soloists, the concert's unique repertoire celebrates jazz's embodiment of freedom and democracy.

The evening will feature the premiere of The Democracy Suite, a new Marsalis composition written during the ongoing COVID-19 crisis as a response to the political, social, and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy Suite is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future.

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Septet with Wynton Marsalis featuring:

  • Wynton Marsalis, trumpet/music director
  • Elliot Mason, trombone
  • Ted Nash, alto saxophone and flute
  • Walter Blanding, tenor and soprano saxophones
  • Dan Nimmer, piano
  • Carlos Henriquez, bass
  • Obed Calvaire, drums

This concert was filmed on September 27, 2020 at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in accordance with the New York State Department of Health Interim Guidance on Media Production.

The event is sponsored by the Halmstead Family and is supported by the Arts Midwest Touring Fund, a program of Arts Midwest that is funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional contributions from Wisconsin Arts Board, and the Crane Group.

Ticketing Options

Tickets start at for $10 general stream plus taxes and fees. 
General stream ticket and preshow Zoom Meet and Greet with Wynton Marsalis are $25 plus taxes and fees.

December 5, 2020 - 7:30 pm

This will be virtual, streamed event. Supported by the Arts Midwest Touring Fund and the Halmstad family.